EXCLUSIVE: Pete Wentz Reveals the Ryan Reynolds Movie That Inspired 'Dear Future Self'

Plus, the song that Fall Out Boy is always chasing

September 30, 2019

Real recognizes real.

Pete Wentz and company in Fall Out Boy are continuing their pursuit of the perfect song, looking to land on something different but distinctly familiar. It exists somewhere between outer space and nostalgia, where only few can find oxygen.

“The song that we’re always in search of, to me, is ‘Hey Ya,’” Wentz tells RADIO.COM in the exclusive interview above. “That’s the song. It’s like this perfect song because it’s weird and you’ve never heard something like that before, but at the same time it feels like, warm and fuzzy, because it feels like something you have known. That’s what we’re on the search for.”

Alright, alright, alright, alright, alright, alright.

WATCH MORE: Green Day Previews The 'HELLA MEGA' Tour

That quest for the Holy Grail once lifted by André 3000 and Outkast, led Wentz and the Chicago band to Wyclef Jean, an artist who has swam in similar spaces, connecting the other-worldly to the well-worn.

“We talked to Wyclef about that, and this is the song he came up with,” explains Wentz of "Dear Future Self (Hands Up)."

“It’s got kind of a ska undertone to it, it’s a weird song. It works for Fall Out Boy and Wyclef together, which seems like it would never work on paper in a million years.”

The muscular surf rock, ska bop is one of a kind, but the origin story goes even deeper. “Dear Future Self (Hands Up)” sprung from an unlikely collaboration and earnest exploration, but also from one of Ryan Reynold’s most underrated films.

“I kinda think about this movie, ‘Definitely Maybe,’” remembers Wentz. “It’s this weird Ryan Reynolds movie that people kind of put in the rom-com category. I don’t really think it is, but there’s a moment in it when he loses his best friend, his relationship and all this stuff, and he’s like – ‘listen, I’ll write you a letter when I figure out whatever I’m suppose to have learned from all this.’”

“That’s kind of what the song is,” adds Wentz. “You don’t need to have it all figured out right now. I think sometimes we don’t always need to be writing to our past self. You can write to your future self and be like, ‘yeah, I’m pretty sure it turns out alright so I can feel alright right now.’”

It’s been 16 years since Fall Out Boy dropped their debut, and on November 15 the band will celebrate with a new Greatest Hits album. Believers Never Die – Volume Two was announced along with The HELLA MEGA Tour, hitting the road next summer with Green Day and Weezer to play stadiums across the country.

“It’s crazy for us because we grew up on both Weezer and Green Day,” says Wentz. “So to go on that tour will be insane.”

For more on the HELLA MEGA tour and the latest single from Fall Out Boy, check out the full interview above. You can find the list of dates for the HELLA MEGA tour below.

Fri July 17 Seattle, WA T-Mobile Park
Tue July 21 San Francisco, CA Oracle Park
Fri July 24 San Diego, CA Petco Park
Sat July 25 Los Angeles, CA Dodger Stadium
Tue July 28 Denver, CO Dick's Sporting Goods Park
Fri July 31 Dallas, TX Globe Life Park
Sat Aug 1 Houston, TX Minute Maid Park
Wed Aug 5 Miami, FL Hard Rock Stadium
Thu Aug 6 Jacksonville, FL TIAA Bank Field
Sat Aug 8 Atlanta, GA SunTrust Park
Tue Aug 11 Minneapolis, MN Target Field
Thu Aug 13 Chicago, IL Wrigley Field
Sat Aug 15 Pittsburgh, PA PNC Park
Sun Aug 16 Hershey, PA Hersheypark Stadium
Wed Aug 19 Detroit, MI Comerica Park
Fri Aug 21 Washington, DC Nationals Park
Sat Aug 22 New York, NY Citi Field
Mon Aug 24 Toronto, ON Rogers Centre
Thu Aug 27 Boston, MA Fenway Park
Sat Aug 29 Philadelphia, PA Citizens Bank Park

LISTEN NOW on the RADIO.COM App
Follow RADIO.COM
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Tags: